The decision to terminate a pregnancy is never an easy one, and Planned Parenthood of Michigan (PPMI) offers unbiased, accurate information about the options available for pregnancy termination, medication abortion and surgical abortion.
Medication abortion can be performed up to the 10th week of pregnancy. The administration of medication causes the abortion—no surgery is involved. Get more information about medication abortion.
Surgical abortions are offered through 19.6 weeks of pregnancy. This is an in-office, out-patient procedure. We are one of the few providers who also offer sedation if desired. Get more information about in-clinic abortion procedures.
We provide surgical abortion procedures at our Ann Arbor Main, Flint, and Kalamazoo health centers. (Our Detroit, Grand Rapids, Lansing, Marquette, and Traverse City health centers do not provide surgical abortion procedures, only medication abortions.)
Be sure to watch our informative video about abortion options, requirements, risks and benefits before you come in for your appointment.
How far along am I?
There are two ways to date a pregnancy. Physicians often date a pregnancy from the first day of your last period. The second way to date a pregnancy is from the time of conception, which generally occurs two weeks after the first day of your last period. The required Informed Consent packet we will provide you has information based on dating your pregnancy from conception, which normally occurs two weeks after the first day of your last period.
How do I schedule an appointment?
If you chose to have an abortion, we will provide you with birth control method information on the day of your abortion, or you may seek information from your private physician. Before you leave the health center, you also be provided with contact instructions in case of emergency.
Please be aware that Michigan law requires a 24-hour “waiting” period before either procedure. You will be required to review information from the state and sign a form stating that you have done so before the procedure can be done.
We encourage you to streamline this process by taking advantage of the State’s web page where you can view and download all the necessary forms. See the "Patient Forms" section below for the necessary information and forms.
Additionally, this information can be picked up at any of our health center locations at least 24 hours in advance of your appointment.
What identification do I need?
On the day of your appointment, bring a picture ID that clearly states your date of birth. We will not be able to provide services without it. If you are a minor with parental consent, we will need a copy of your birth certificate, parent’s picture ID, and picture ID for teen (a school ID is OK). If you do not have a picture ID, we will need a copy of your birth certificate, parent’s picture ID, and insurance card with your name listed.
What payment methods are accepted?
Be prepared to pay the full balance at the appointment. If you are having a two-day procedure, payment in full is expected on the first day of your procedure. We accept cash, Visa, Master Card, Discover, and money orders. (We do not accept personal checks or American Express.) If you are using insurance coverage, we will need the policy information submitted before your appointment.
Funding is available for low-income women. Please call 800-230-7526 for more information.
Be properly prepared for your appointment by bringing your completed forms with you. To complete your paperwork, read the HIPAA notice, then download the PDF forms, print them, fill them out, sign them, and bring them to your appointment.
/planned-parenthood-michigan/ppmi-hipaa-spanish1. HIPAA Notice
Read this notice of health information privacy practices (optional).
You can read the HIPAA Notice in Spanish.
2. Patient Data Form
Download, print, and fill out the form; please sign and date the second page.
You can get the Patient Data Form in Spanish.
3. 24-Hour Informed Consent Process
This information is required for your appointment. You must complete these steps AT LEAST 24 HOURS BEFORE YOUR APPOINTMENT.
A. Pick up the informed consent information packet at one of our health centers, or
B. View the required informed consent information online and print the required informed consent confirmation form.
- Your informed consent confirmation form is only good for 2 weeks. Do not download and sign it more than two weeks before your scheduled procedure.
- Failure to print the informed consent confirmation form online (or to pick up the informed consent packet at a health center) will result in rescheduling your appointment.
- If you choose to email the informed consent confirmation form to yourself, please be sure to save it as a Portable Document Format (PDF) before emailing. This ensures that the date is accurate on the form.
Please be sure to bring these signed documents to your appointment:
- Patient Data Form
- State Informed Consent Confirmation Form