Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Florida law requires a person to have two appointments at least 24 hours apart to obtain an abortion.  The first visit will include lab work, ultrasound, education and options information, and a meeting with a physician to discuss the abortion procedure.  The second visit will include the abortion procedure.

Here are some frequently asked questions to help you understand this new law.

Why didn’t I know about this before?

This legislation passed in 2015. Gainesville Woman Care, LLC and others filed suit against the bill and it has been tied up in the courts for seven years now. Planned Parenthood and our allies who advocate for reproductive rights did everything we could to stop the bill from passing but the courts are saying now that it will finally go into effect. We’re as frustrated as you are but we have to abide by the ruling of the courts.

Why did the legislature pass this law?

This bill was part of a nationally coordinated strategy to chip away at abortion access until it is completely out of reach. Implicit in this legislation is the unfounded assumption that women who decide to have an abortion don’t carefully consider their decision. We know this is not the case and the reasons people decide to have an abortion are complicated. State laws that require mandatory delays before a person can get an abortion do not offer any health benefits. They result in increased expenses, travel difficulties, and medical risks. Planned Parenthood is here to help you navigate these challenges and ensure you can access they care you need.

When will my next appointment be?

We will do our best to schedule your next appointment in a timely fashion that is convenient for you and your schedule. Once you are seen for your first appointment, we will book your second visit in the health center.

Why are you making me have two appointments? Can I go to another abortion provider?

This is not a Planned Parenthood policy. This is a law passed by the Florida legislature. All abortion providers must abide by this new law.

Is there any way I don’t have to have two appointments?

The only exception to this law is for victims of rape, incest, domestic violence and human trafficking. If this situation applies to you, this new law requires legal documentation in the form of a police report, medical record, or court order.

Why are you making this harder for me?

I am so sorry for this inconvenience. Unfortunately, this is a law that has been passed and we are legally required to follow it. Planned Parenthood is here to support you and we will help you navigate this process and help you access the care you need and answer any questions you have.

Is there an additional expense?

No. For patients who don’t have insurance coverage, there will be a fee collected for services at the first appointment ($300) and the balance is due at the second appointment. If you have insurance that covers abortion procedures, there is a copay at the first visit.

There is some financial assistance available, if you qualify it may help reduce the cost of the abortion. You can call 1-800-230-PLAN (7526) to discuss pricing and financial assistance before your visit.

Abortion Services

Because of state restrictions, getting an abortion can be a bit complicated. Visit our abortion servies page for more information about what to expect.