Parental Notification Law
The State of Florida has a parental notification law that requires PPSWCF, the Health Care Provider, to provide notice to a parent or legal guardian at least 48 hours before an abortion unless it does not apply to you. We are unable to schedule this appointment online. Please call us at (941)-567-3800 to schedule your appointment. Click here for more information.
Abortion Training Center
As experts in Reproductive Health Care we have established an Abortion Training Center where doctors and other health care professionals come from all over the country to learn how to provide high quality abortion care. Our board certified physicians and clinicians provide the supervision and training. The care you receive as part of this program meets the highest standards and is supervised by our most experienced clinical staff. The pace of care in the training center maybe a little slower and therefore your day may be a little bit longer. In recognition of your time and your commitment to participating in the training center, you may be eligible to receive a gift card at the end of your visit. Call us at (407) 246-1788 to schedule an appointment or learn more about the Abortion Training Center.
Planned Parenthood of Southwest and Central Florida offers a variety of payment options for health services.
We accept cash, check card/debit card and all major credit cards (Visa, MasterCard and Discover). Health Centers do not accept checks or American Express at time of service. Payments are due at the time of service.
We're here to give you the medically-accurate information you need to decide what is best for you. If you are considering abortion a health care professional at Planned Parenthood will:
Discuss all options concerning pregnancy
Answer any questions you may have
Explain abortion procedures and discuss possible risks
Discuss birth control methods
Women who choose or are considering abortion may feel a range of emotions. We encourage you to talk to a trusted family member, partner, friend or mentor about your decision.
Abortion is a safe and legal way to end pregnancy. Abortions are very common. In fact, 3 out of 10 women in the U.S. have an abortion by the time they are 45 years old.
In addition to providing abortion services (both by pill and in-clinic ), we also offer pre- and post- abortion patient education, post-abortion follow-up exams, and sedation options. All services require an appointment, to which you must bring a valid photo ID - click here to find the health center that's most convenient for you, and to find out more details about which services are offered there.
If you are a minor, click here for further information and the Parental Notification Form.
We are committed to providing the information you need to make the decision that's right for you. Click here for more information about abortion.
What to do before sedation?
If you are planning to receive sedation for your abortion it is not necessary for you to withhold food or drink prior to your appointment. Only patients over 18 weeks gestation and only on day 2 of their procedure are required to fast.
- Fasting means no milk, heavy meals , or solids (includes juices with pulp, milk products) up to 6 hours.
- You may have clear liquids such as tea, soda, non-pulp juices, Jell-O, or popsicles up to 2 hours before you receive sedation.
If you have any questions or need more clarification please contact our call center at 941.567.3800.
For Your Protection
PPSWCF requires photo identification when accessing any of our facilities as well as when paying for services with credit or debit cards. Without proper ID, we are only able to accept cash.
Understand that PPSWCF cannot guarantee confidentiality when using insurance. The actual policy holder will receive all explanations of benefits. Be mindful that if you are a dependent or a spouse under someone else's policy, your confidentiality is not guaranteed.