Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Updated Sept. 3, 2021

How late you can get an abortion depends on the laws in your state and which doctor’s office or health center you go to. 

It can be harder to find a nurse or doctor who will give you an abortion after your 12th week of pregnancy, so it’s best to try to have your abortion as soon as possible. You can get an abortion later than 24 weeks only in rare cases for medical reasons. The staff at your nearest Planned Parenthood health center can go over all your options with you.

On Sept. 1, 2021, a new, extreme law went into effect in the state of Texas that bans abortion around 6 weeks of pregnancy — before many people even know they're pregnant. Read more about the Texas Abortion Ban.

If you’re in Texas and you need an abortion, please seek care as soon as possible. Locate an abortion provider at abortionfinder.org or call 1-800-230-PLAN. 

 

Tags: Abortion