Abortion in Lincoln, NE
Lincoln South Health Center offers the following abortion services:
- abortion pill (medication abortion)
- in-clinic abortion
- pre- and post-abortion patient education
- post-abortion follow-up exams
- referrals for other abortion services, as needed
- sedation options (medication to make the abortion more comfortable)
Here's what you need to know about abortion services at this health center:
Abortion Pill (Medication Abortion)
Abortion pill (medication abortion) is offered up to 11 weeks and 0 days after the start of your last menstrual period.
If your last period was more than 11 weeks and 0 days ago, read about our in-clinic abortion services below.
Abortion pill (medication abortion) services are available by appointment only.
You will need to follow up within 1-2 weeks to make sure your abortion is complete and that you are well. In the unlikely event that you are still pregnant, you may need another dose of medication or to have an in-clinic abortion to end the pregnancy.
After your abortion pill visit, you will need access to a telephone, transportation, and backup medical care available to you once you are home.
In-clinic abortion is offered up to 16 weeks and 6 days after the start of your last menstrual period. If your last period was after 16 weeks and 6 days, we can still help. Call us for a referral list of health care providers in your area that offer other abortion services.
In-clinic abortions are available by appointment only.
If you desire medication to help make your in-clinic abortion more comfortable, you must have a responsible companion with you to help you get home safely.
If you have asthma, bring an inhaler if you have one.
Other Abortion Services Information
If you take any medications, please continue to take these medications normally before your appointment.
Please do not bring children with you to the health center.
During your visit, you may be given the following:
- pregnancy test
- a chance to speak with a trained staff person about all of your choices: abortion, adoption, and parenting
- a conversation with the health care provider about your health history
- lab tests/blood work
- a pelvic exam
- an ultrasound
- medications to make the abortion more comfortable
- medication if you are Rh negative
- antibiotics or other medications
- birth control information
- a birth control method
At times there may be protesters outside of the health center. We suggest you avoid interaction with them.
Laws and Regulations
Nebraska Revised Statute Section 28-327 requires a woman wait at least 24 hours prior to the performance of an abortion (only applicable to Nebraska clinics). At Planned Parenthood, women making an appointment for an abortion will be required to listen to a recording that provides then with the following information:
The statute mandates that a woman is to be informed 1) about the particular medical risks associated with the abortion procedure, the risk of infection, hemorrhage, and effect on future fertility and infertility; 2) about the medical risks associated with continuing her pregnancy to term; 3) concerning the name of the physician who will perform the abortion; 4) that medical assistance benefits may be available for prenatal care, childbirth and neonatal care; 5) that her male partner is liable to assist in the support of her potential child; 6) that she has a right to review the printed material produced by the Department of Health about abortion and abortion alternatives.
Please also read below about state laws and parental consent regulations.
It is the philosophy of Planned Parenthood of the Heartland to encourage adolescents to involve their parents in their decisions about an unplanned pregnancy, realizing that some adolescent women face difficult family situations and will decide that parental involvement is not in their best interests.
The Nebraska Parental Consent Act, Nebraska Revised Statute, Section 71-6901, et seq, applies to young women under the age of 18. Nebraska state law requires that a young woman under age 18 obtain consent of one parent or legal guardian of her plan to have an abortion. The law contains a provision for legal waiver of the notification process. A minor can comply with this state statute in one of three ways:
1. The young woman can obtain consent from her parent/legal guardian by:
a. Having a parent/legal guardian accompany her to the clinic the day of the abortion procedure to sign the "Parental Consent" form. This documentation will be notarized prior to procedure at the health center.
b. Having her parent/legal guardian stop by either clinic location prior to her scheduled procedure to complete the form. This documentation will be notarized after the signature has been obtained at the health center.
2. The young woman can seek a waiver of consent legally ("Judicial Bypass") pursuant to State Statutes before a district court judge, separate juvenile court judge, or county judge in order to be granted permission to proceed with the abortion without obtaining consent from a parent/legal guardian. Planned Parenthood staff will locate an attorney to assist the young woman with this process.
Please also read above about mandatory state waiting periods for abortion services.
If you are a minor considering an abortion, please read about parental consent and notification laws that might apply in your state.
Prices and Payment Information
Please contact this health center for abortion services pricing information.
Payment is expected at time of service unless other arrangements have previously been made.
Abortion services may be covered by your insurance. If you want to use your insurance, please be sure to bring in your insurance information at the time of your visit.