We know there is a lot to consider. Here you'll find some of the most common questions we hear women ask when considering abortion. We hope you find the answers helpful.
In Utah, there are two licensed abortion clinics, both of which are located in Salt Lake County. Your private provider may also provide this service. There are generally two types of abortion: the abortion pill (medication) and in-clinic (surgical). You will be given pain control medication, and you will receive instructions on how to prepare for your visit, what to expect, and how to take care of yourself after.
Contact one of the providers below for more information on abortion procedures or visit our Metro Health Center page.
In Utah, you must obtain face-to-face informed consent and wait 72 hours before having an abortion. Starting in 2019, a mandatory information module has been added as a new addition to the state-mandated informed consent process. The informed consent information module can be accessed at informedconsent.health.utah.gov. (If you have issues accessing the informed consent education module, please call 801-273-2871.) People who choose to terminate their pregnancy will need to complete the module prior to their face-to-face consultation and present a certificate of completion at their appointment. Call Planned Parenthood at 1-800-230-PLAN for more information.
Parental consent is required for abortion procedures for women under 18 years of age in Utah. Read more about parental consent laws here.