The new law includes mandatory ultrasounds and bans abortion at 24 weeks.
Abortion remains safe and legal in New Hampshire, but there are a few changes, effective January 1, 2022:
- All patients receiving abortion care at a health center in New Hampshire must have an ultrasound. The ultrasound is required regardless of your stage of pregnancy, or the type of abortion care you are receiving (medication or surgical). The only exception is if your patient record indicates you have already had an ultrasound. If you have had an ultrasound with a different health care provider, please let us know prior to your appointment so that we can obtain a copy. Call the health center where you are scheduled for more information.
- The law bans abortion at 24 weeks. While this section of the law does not impact the care we provide at PPNNE health centers, we believe all people should have the right to access the sexual and reproductive health care they need - including abortion – without government interference.