Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage
Collage of 6 images from Shine 2022

Shine 2023

"Do not worry if all the candles in the world flicker and die. We have the spark that starts the fire." -Rumi

At a moment when so much is on the line, it is important to remind ourselves why we are in this fight and how much stronger we are together. Join us and Event Chair Katie Patterson as we celebrate the courage and determination our community embodies and energize for the journey ahead. 

Wednesday, May 10, 2023 | 6:00-8:30 p.m.
Hilton Downtown Des Moines, 435 Park Street

5:30 p.m. Private Host Reception
6:00 p.m. Main Reception
7:00 p.m. Dinner and Program

With your help Planned Parenthood has stood with our community, working to provide compassionate care and inclusive education to Iowans no matter their age, race, income, or location. Your support funds essential sexual and reproductive health care, medically accurate and inclusive sex education, and fierce advocacy in Iowa.

Please register by Wednesday, May 3.

Join us!

Your generosity at Shine funds essential sexual and reproductive health care, medically accurate and inclusive sex education, and fierce advocacy in Iowa.

Purchase your ticket now

Host Opportunities

Includes invitation for two and recognition as one of our leading donors.

Visionary Host | $10,000
Innovator Host | $5,000
Leader Host | $2,500
Advocate Host | $1,000
Young Professional Host | $250

Ticket Opportunities

Includes invitation for one.

Individual Ticket | $150
Young Professional Ticket | $100

Thank you to our generous hosts

Sarah Bailey • Elizabeth Baird and Ken Cameron • Pamela Bass-Bookey and Harry Bookey • Zeb Beilke-McCallum and Annika Schilke • Laurie Belin and Kieran Williams • Amy and Al Bingaman • Margo and Don Blumenthal • Margaret and Arden Borgen • Shelley and Martin Brody • Karla Bromwell • Jamie Burch Elliott and Adam Elliott • Jason and Kayla Burkhiser Reynolds • Bonnie Campbell • Tom Carpenter • Alicia and David Claypool • Suzanna de Baca • Kyrstin Delagardelle • Julia and Jared Dellitt • Alex and Joe Dickinson • Catherine and Jim Dietz-Kilen • DT Doan • Sheila and Tim Drevyanko • Kathy Elsner and Steve Adelman • Karen Engman • Nathan Erickson • Fran Fleck and Terry Greenley • Jane and Eric Fogg • Stefan Gailans • Rosalie Gallagher • Sarah Garst and Jeff O'Donnell • Mollie Giller • Debbie Gitchell • Bonnie Green • Adrienne Greenwald and Zac Anderson • Janet Griffin and Jeff Hunter • Amber Gustafson • Dr. Wendi Harris • Barbara and Doug Hein • Harvey Giller and Barb Hirsch-Giller • Mrs. Hannah and Dr. Jimmie Horton • Charlotte and Fred Hubbell • Rusty Hubbell • Iowa Foundation for Education, Environment, and the Arts • Martha James and Mike Myszewski • Patricia and James Jones • Earl and Shane Kavanaugh • Linda Kirkman and Nolan Quam • Jenna and Izaah Knox • Jim Kovarik • Keith and Diane Krell • Beverly and Warren Madden • Barb Madden-Bittle and Ed Bittle • Randall Maharry, M.D. • Cyril and John Mandelbaum • Supervisor Matt McCoy • Janet and Don Metcalf • Joan Middleton and Middleton Family • Karen and John Miller • Marla and Joe Naumann • William and LuAnn Newland • Katie Patterson • Phyllis Pearson • Diann and Dean Peyton • Ruth Richardson • Susy Robinette • Chuck Rohm • Dustin Ross • Paul and Lori Rottenberg • Patrice and John Sayre • John Schmidt and Deb Wiley • Lori and Steve SchraderBachar • Eliza Ovrum and Mark Schuling • Craig and Kimberly Shadur • Drs. Robert and Rebecca Shaw • Barb and Bruce Sherman • Phil and Diana Sickles • Meredith and Andrew Stahl • Rachel Stauffer and Jim Lawson • Mazie Stilwell • Jan Stump • Dr. Deborah Turner • B. Joan White • Bob and Jean Williams