Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Reproductive Health Services

At Reproductive Health Services (RHS), we care about you and are committed to your right to accurate health information. We will answer all of your questions and give you the information you need in a supportive and confidential setting.

Our physicians are Board Certified Specialists in Obstetrics and Gynecology. Our staff members provide the highest quality of support from the first moment a patient calls and throughout the entire day of the procedure.

Counseling and Education

Counseling and education are available to you and your family before and after an abortion. We:

  • Assist you in understanding the impact of a pregnancy on your current life situation.
  • Help identify and explore all options available so that you can make the best possible decision.
  • Offer the opportunity to get additional counseling through referral to other agencies.
  • Educate you on your reproductive health care, birth control methods, pre-natal care, and other related health issues.

Counseling and education are available by phone at 314-531-7526.

When is it legal to have an abortion in Missouri?

You can get an abortion in Missouri up to 21 weeks and 6 days after your last menstrual period. After that time, abortion is available only if the woman’s life or health is threatened.

Is there a mandatory waiting period before I can have an abortion in Missouri?

Yes. Missouri requires a mandatory delay of 72 hours between the time informed consent is given and the procedure is performed. As of October 2017, the person administering the consent process must be the same physician who will perform your abortion. RHS staff can guide you through the process to make it as easy to understand as possible.

Does my partner have any legal say in my decision regarding a pregnancy?

No. Under Missouri law, your partner cannot legally interfere with your decision-making regarding a pregnancy. If you wish, your partner or other loved ones can offer much needed support before, during and after your abortion. RHS staff is available to assist and support you throughout the process.

If I'm Medicaid eligible, can Medicaid pay for my abortion?

In Missouri, Medicaid may only pay for abortion in the case of rape, incest or to save the life of the mother. If you think you may qualify for abortion coverage under Medicaid, please speak with RHS staff.

Does Missouri state law require parental consent?

If you are 17 years old or younger, Missouri requires the consent of a parent, legal guardian or judge to obtain an abortion. If the consent is given by a parent or guardian, they must accompany the minor to the health center on the day of the procedure.

Can health care providers (doctors, hospitals, nurses, clinics) refuse to perform abortions or refuse to give me information about them?

Yes. Missouri law allows individuals and institutions to refuse to provide abortions in many cases, and those individuals or institutions are not required to give you information or referrals. RHS is committed to giving you all the information you want and need to make the best decisions for you.