Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Abortion Restrictions
by State

NC Abortion Restrictions

On July 1, 2023 new abortion restrictions took effect.

Abortions are available up to 12 weeks, 6 days gestation, with few exceptions for abortion care after that. Abortions after 12 weeks, 6 days are only available in North Carolina to save the life of the pregnant person, if there is a serious risk to the pregnant person’s health, if the fetus is not expected to survive the pregnancy (abortion available up to 24 weeks) or if the pregnancy is the result of rape and/or incest (abortion available up to 20 weeks).

In-person counseling appointments are required at least three days prior to the abortion procedure.

There is a 72-hour waiting period after receiving state-mandated education materials.

All minors seeking an abortion need consent from a parent or guardian. If this is not an option, minors can also seek a judicial waiver (called a judicial bypass in many other states). Minors can seek help with the judicial waiver process – text ABBY to 844-997-2229 to be confidentially connected with a trusted adult or lawyer for help navigating the process.

Click here to learn more about the new restrictions and their impact.

SC Abortion Restrictions

Because of a law in South Carolina, abortion is banned at around 6 weeks of pregnancy and has some other restrictions on abortion access. The exact point in a pregnancy at which abortion will no longer be legal will vary from person to person depending on how quickly the embryo is developing, which a health care provider can determine. To figure out how far along you are in pregnancy, the first day of your last period counts as day one of pregnancy.

If you’re around 6 weeks pregnant or less, it is legal for you to get an abortion in South Carolina.

If you are under the age of 17, a parent or legal guardian must give you permission to get an abortion in South Carolina. If getting the permission of a parent or guardian is not an option for you, you can seek a judicial bypass. A judicial bypass allows you to waive the requirement for parental involvement. If you're a minor who would like help navigating the judicial bypass process, contact the If/When/How Judicial Bypass (JB) Helpline. To contact the JB Helpline, call 844-868-2812 or submit a request online.

Other South Carolina laws may make it more difficult to access abortion care in South Carolina.

You can leave South Carolina and get an abortion out of state.

If you’re past around 6 weeks pregnant, you may need to travel out of South Carolina to get an abortion unless you qualify for an exception. Exceptions are very limited and include:

  • To save the pregnant person's life
  • To prevent serious risk to the pregnant person's physical health
  • If the fetus is not expected to survive the pregnancy
  • If the pregnancy is a result of rape and/or incest.

VA Abortion Restrictions

​​​Minors seeking an abortion must notify parents 24 hours prior to appointment.

  • Minors can seek a Judicial Bypass, for assistance with the Judicial Bypass process text the Jane’s Due Process Hotline: (866)999-5263

Abortions are not available after 26 weeks gestation, except if the pregnant person’s life or health is in danger.