Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Facts About The
Texas Abortion Law

You have a constitutional right to abortion in Texas and all 50 states. But as of Sept. 1, most people in Texas won't be able to get an abortion because of a new, extreme law that bans abortion around 6 weeks of pregnancy.

What does the new Texas abortion law say?

  • A new law went into effect in Texas on September 1st that bans abortion at around 6 weeks of pregnancy -- before many people even know they’re pregnant.

  • The law is also referred to as Senate Bill 8 (S.B. 8).

  • S.B. 8 allows people across the country to sue anyone who helps someone get an abortion after six weeks in Texas — including doctors, partners, friends, family members, or abortion fund volunteers. It offers a $10,000 minimum reward for every successful lawsuit.

  • S.B. 8 is the harshest, most extreme abortion restriction in the country; and it's the first 6-week ban that has been allowed to take effect.

What should I do if I'm in Texas and need an abortion?

If you’re in Texas and you need an abortion, please seek care as soon as possible. 

  • Locate an abortion provider at abortionfinder.org or
  • Call Planned Parenthood at 1-800-230-7526. Our staff can answer your questions, determine how far along your pregnancy is, and help you get the care you need. 

What are my options if I need help paying for an abortion?

Visit the National Network of Abortion Funds to see what resources are available in your state. Some of these funds will help pay for the procedure itself, and others will cover things like travel, childcare, and more.

If you are getting an abortion in Maine, New Hampshire, or Vermont, call us at 866-476-1321 and our staff can discuss your financial options, which may include screening for funding eligibility.

What abortion restrictions are there in my state? 

Abortion is still safe and legal in all 50 states. That being said, many states have restrictions in place that can make accessing an abortion more difficult. These restrictions can include a mandatory waiting period, parental notification or consent, and more. 

In our region, Maine and Vermont currently have no abortion restrictions. New Hampshire has two restrictions: 1) Parental Notification and 2) State Medicaid funding is prohibited. Additionally, a 24-week abortion ban is set to take effect in New Hampshire on January 1, 2022.  

Learn about abortion restrictions in other states. 

What is being done to stop the Texas law?

Reproductive rights advocates, including Planned Parenthood, are fighting S.B. 8 in court and are working to stop the abortion ban. We’ll keep providing updates as the situation unfolds. And know this: Planned Parenthood is here for you. We’ll continue to provide quality, essential health care, and we’ll never stop fighting for your right to access the care you need.

How can I help or get involved?

  • MARCH with us, the Women's March, and our allies, at one of the nationwide marches on October 2nd to defend abortion access. Click here for march info in ME, NH, or VT. 

  • SIGN THE PLEDGE  to call on leaders nationwide to say "no" to abortion bans: 

  • DONATE to Planned Parenthood to help patients access the care they deserve, regardless of their ability to pay, to make sure they know their options, and to help us fight in court to overturn this assault on our most basic rights.

    • Text “Texas” to 22422 or visit wearepp.org/Texas

    • To support Planned Parenthood of Northern New England specifically, and help us ensure we can provide health care to all of our patients, make a donation here. PPNNE serves Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont, and all the patients who travel to us from outside our region to access services.

  • SPEAK OUT about what abortion means to you. Your story can make a difference: