Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

The Massachusetts Women's Political Caucus has announced that Charlestown Resident Dianne Luby, president and CEO of the Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts, will be the honoree at the annual Tribute to Abigail Adams ceremony.


Reported by Robert Rizzuto at The Republican. View original source at http://www.masslive.com/politics/index.ssf/2012/10/massachusetts_womens_political.html.


Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts


Robert Rizzto
The Republican


October 02, 2012

The celebration and dinner, named after the wife of President John Adams, pays tribute to women who "work in their professional and personal lives to achieve parity for women across all realms," according to the nonpartisan caucus.

Luby, who has served as CEO of the Bay State chapter of Planned Parenthood for 13 years, has helped the organization develop its services in new communities and expand its outreach to lower-income and under-served segments of the population.

“Dianne Luby is an important voice for women’s health and reproductive rights,” said Priti Rao, executive director of the Mass. Women's Political Caucus. “She remains dedicated to increasing access for all women to receive proper health care at facilities across the state. She is a strong advocate for a woman’s right to choose and making sure that preventative care funding is available for all. We couldn’t be happier to present her with this award.”

Luby announced in June that she would be stepping down from her role in Planned Parenthood at the end of 2012, on the heels of the group completing its strategic five-year plan and achieving a $30 million "Sexual Health Matters" campaign goal.

Luby will be honored on Oct. 10 at the 25th Annual Tribute to Abigail Adams which takes place from 6-8 p.m. at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel in Boston.

According to Rao, other women being honored include State Auditor Suzanne Bump; Rosalin Acosta, regional wealth leader at TD Bank; Deborah C. Enos, president and CEO of Neighborhood Health Plan; Jennifer Nassour, former chairwomen of the Massachusetts Republican Party; and the recipient of the Dolores L. Mitchell Lifetime Achievement Award, Marge Schiller, the founding president of the Massachusetts Women’s Political Caucus.