Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Baltimore, MD - The Planned Parenthood of Maryland (PPM) Betty Tyler Award recognizes an individual or organization that has demonstrated outstanding leadership in protecting and/or advancing reproductive rights in Maryland. This year, PPM is honored to present the Betty Tyler Award to Frances B. Phillips, RN, MHA at the 8th Annual Celebrate Our Right to Shoes. This event will be held on Thursday, April 25th at the Four Seasons Baltimore.

“We are thrilled to present this prestigious award to Fran Phillips for her visionary leadership in the field of public health,” stated Jenny Black, President and CEO of Planned Parenthood of Maryland.  “Fran’s personal and professional commitment to ensuring access to equitable healthcare for all Marylanders has helped to ensure that all Maryland women have the ability to shape their own destinies.”

Ms. Phillips served as Deputy Secretary for Public Health Services for the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene from 2008 until 2012, and Health Officer for Anne Arundel County, Maryland, and City Health Officer for Annapolis, Maryland, prior.  In these capacities, her leadership has helped increase access to affordable healthcare coverage and reduced the infant mortality rate in Maryland.   Ms. Phillips is a registered nurse with clinical nursing experience in pediatrics, orthopedics, emergency medicine and quality assurance.  She holds a baccalaureate degree in community health nursing from The Catholic University of America and a masters degree in health care administration from The George Washington University.

Previous honorees include: Senator Cathy Riley, Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, Senator Barbara Hoffman, Senator Paula Hollinger, Senator Clarence Blount, Gov. Parris Glendening, U.S. Rep. Chris Van Hollen, Senator Vernon Boozer, Senator Sharon Grosfeld, Delegate Michael Busch, Delegate James Hubbard, Delegate John Hurson, Stephanie Rawlings-Blake, Senator Delores G. Kelley, and Delegate Peter A. Hammen.

The Betty Tyler Award was created to honor former board member and longtime dedicated PPM Supporter, Betty Tyler.  Betty Tyler served on the board from 1974-1986 and was very active in public affairs work.  The first award was given in 1988.


The mission of Planned Parenthood of Maryland is to enable all Marylanders to have access to a wide range of high quality affordable reproductive health care services. By providing medical services, education, training and advocacy, PPM seeks to help individuals make informed decisions about the reproductive health, family planning options and sexuality.


Planned Parenthood of Maryland, Inc.


Allie Stehlin
Communications Coordinator


April 15, 2013