Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Texas has more abortion restrictions than many other states in the U.S.

When the Texas Legislature meets, statewide elected officials implement new bans on abortion and new mandates for patients seeking an abortion. As a result, abortion is a highly regulated medical procedure in Texas. 


Abortion Information

Extremists opposed to abortion often promote harmful misinformation about medication and surgical abortion. Here are facts about this common, safe medical procedure:

Abortion is a common, safe medical procedure.

FACT: Abortion is an extremely safe and common procedure. At current rates, about one in four Americans who can reproduce have had an abortion by the age of 45. Abortions happen without any major complications in more than 99.975% of cases. 

Both in-clinic and medication abortions are very safe. Overall, about 1 in 4 women in the U.S. will have an abortion by the time they’re 45 years old.

Planned Parenthood leads the country with the most up-to-date medical standards and guidelines for health care, including abortion. We regularly review new medical research and get updates from groups like the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the World Health Organization, and the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Abortions do not increase the risk of breast cancer. 

FACT: Both the American Cancer Society and the American Medical Association have concluded there is no link between breast cancer and abortion. For example, the American Cancer Society has concluded that no scientific research studies demonstrate a cause and effect relationship between abortion and breast cancer.

Abortions do not pose risks to future pregnancies.

FACT: Having an abortion does not impact one’s ability to reproduce in the future. A first-trimester abortion is a safe and simple medical procedure.

In Texas, a person seeking a medication or surgical abortion is required to:

  • Receive state-mandated informational materials by the same doctor who will perform the abortion in person at least 24 hours before obtaining an abortion. This mandate requires at least a two hour wait if the person lives more than 100 miles from the health center providing the abortion (Texas Health & Safety Code § 171.012). The state-mandated informational materials contain medically-inaccurate and misleading information.
  • Obtain an ultrasound performed by the physician who will perform the abortion or a certified sonographer. During this ultrasound, the state of Texas requires that ultrasound images are placed in the patient’s view, any sound must be made audible, and a description of the ultrasound images must be verbally provided to the patient (Texas Health & Safety Code § 171.0122).
  • Abortion inducing drugs (also known as medication abortion) must be provided by the doctor (Texas Health & Safety Code § 171.063).
20161208_us_states

Do minors need their parent’s permission to get an abortion?

Yes. In Texas, state law requires that the parent or legal guardian provide written permission for unmarried minors (under the age of 18) to have an abortion. There are a few exceptions:

  1. The minor can go before a judge and receive permission from the judge to have an abortion without the parent’s permission (also known as Judicial Bypass). Call 713-535-2400 and our staff can give you information about Parental Consent or Judicial Bypass. Or visit Jane's Due Process page.
  2. Minors who are legally emancipated do not need to have permission from a parent or guardian.
  3. If there is a medical emergency and the pregnant minor needs an abortion, the parent does not have to give permission.

Minors are encouraged to communicate with a caring parent, guardian or custodian.

parentguide