Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Christine Charbonneau is the president and CEO of Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest , Hawai'i, Alaska, Indiana, Kentucky (PPGNHAIK): a 77 million-dollar, 40 health center organization covering Alaska, Idaho, Indiana, Hawai'i, Kentucky, and Western Washington.

Chris has been a Planned Parenthood leader for 39 years, 29 of them as CEO.  Beginning as a volunteer in the Seattle Health Center in 1982, she expanded her volunteer commitment to include community education and public policy activism. In 1987, she became the COO of Planned Parenthood Seattle-King County (PPSKC) and after five years under the leadership of Lee Minto, the PPSKC Board selected her as CEO in 1993. In 1996, Chris led the merger of three Planned Parenthood organizations to become Planned Parenthood of Western Washington; in 2008 she led another merger of three organizations to become Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest. In 2015, Chris led the merger with Hawai'i to become the current PPGNHAIK and began the merger with PPINK in 2019.

Chris was instrumental in the creation of what we now call Planned Parenthood Online, serving more than 50 million unique users each year. In 1988, Chris and two other colleagues started work to commission the manufacture of affordable contraceptive supplies for public sector providers serving low-income women; 25 years and much hard work later that goal became a reality in Afaxys, a virtual pharmaceutical company she helped to found. Afaxys began to supply Planned Parenthood affiliates, health departments, and health organizations serving low-income women with those products in 2013.

Chris was honored with the Ruth Green Award in March 2010. Nominated by the board of the former affiliate, Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest and selected by her peers, this highest honor Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA) bestows upon a CEO recognizes Chris’ outstanding achievements in planning, public affairs, and fundraising. In June 2015 she was awarded the Distinguished Alumna Award from her alma mater, the University of Washington.