Abortion in Houston, TX
Planned Parenthood Center for Choice Ambulatory Surgical Center (Abortion) offers the following abortion services:
- abortion pill (medication abortion)
- in-clinic abortion
- pre- and post-abortion patient education
- post-abortion follow-up exams
- referrals for other abortion services, as needed
- sedation options (medication to make the abortion more comfortable)
- In-clinic abortion is offered up to the state legal limit. If you think you may be beyond this limit, please call us at 713-535-2400. We may still be able to help you find an out-of-state abortion provider who can safely and legally end your pregnancy.
Here's what you need to know about abortion services at this health center:
Abortion Pill (Medication Abortion)
You will need to follow up within 1-2 weeks to make sure your abortion is complete and that you are well. In the unlikely event that you are still pregnant, you may need another dose of medication or to have an in-clinic abortion to end the pregnancy.
After your abortion pill visit, you will need access to a telephone, transportation, and backup medical care available to you once you are home.
Other Abortion Services Information
If you take any medications, please continue to take these medications normally before your appointment.
During your visit, you may be given the following:
- pregnancy test
- a chance to speak with a trained staff person about all of your choices: abortion, adoption, and parenting
- a conversation with the health care provider about your health history
- lab tests/blood work
- a pelvic exam
- an ultrasound
- medications to make the abortion more comfortable
- medication if you are Rh negative
- antibiotics or other medications
- birth control information
- a birth control method
At times there may be protesters outside of the health center. We suggest you avoid interaction with them.
As of October 1, 2011, the State of Texas requires all women seeking an abortion to have an ultrasound at least 24 hours before the abortion. This means that you will have to schedule more than one appointment in order to meet the State requirements. At your first visit you will have an ultrasound to find out how far along you are in the pregnancy and speak to the doctor who will perform your abortion. If you are within the legal limit and decide to have an abortion, the abortion clinic will schedule your second appointment.
Laws and Regulations
You must contact Planned Parenthood 24 hours before an abortion procedure as mandated by law. Please refer to the Web link below for detail information on the legal requirements in accordance with the laws of the state of Texas. Unmarried teens under the age of 19 must have the parent's consent to obtain an abortion. The teen may also choose to appear before a judge to get permission to have an abortion. This is called a "judicial bypass". For more information, please follow the Web link below.
If you are a minor considering an abortion, please read about parental consent and notification laws that might apply in your state.
Prices and Payment Information
Please contact this health center for abortion services pricing information.
Payment is expected at time of service unless other arrangements have previously been made.
Abortion services may be covered by your insurance. If you want to use your insurance, please be sure to bring in your insurance information at the time of your visit.