Servicios de aborto in Saint Louis, MO
Reproductive Health Services of PPSLR offers the following abortion services:
- abortion pill (medication abortion)
- in-clinic abortion
- pre- and post-abortion patient education
- post-abortion follow-up exams
- referrals for other abortion services, as needed
- sedation options (medication to make the abortion more comfortable)
birth control options for patients following procedures either by prescription or on site, including long-acting reversible methods
private and confidential options counseling is available by our licensed counseling staff
Here's what you need to know about abortion services at this health center:
Abortion Pill (Medication Abortion)
Abortion pill (medication abortion) is offered up to 10 weeks and 0 days after the start of your last menstrual period.
If your last period was more than 10 weeks and 0 days ago, read about our in-clinic abortion services below.
Abortion pill (medication abortion) services are available by appointment only.
You will need to follow up within 1-2 weeks to make sure your abortion is complete and that you are well. In the unlikely event that you are still pregnant, you may need another dose of medication or to have an in-clinic abortion to end the pregnancy.
After your abortion pill visit, you will need access to a telephone, transportation, and backup medical care available to you once you are home.
In-clinic abortion is offered up to 21 weeks and 6 days after the start of your last menstrual period. If your last period was after 21 weeks and 6 days, we can still help. Call us for a referral list of health care providers in your area that offer other abortion services.
In-clinic abortions are available by appointment only.
If you desire medication to help make your in-clinic abortion more comfortable, you must have a responsible companion with you to help you get home safely.
If you have asthma, bring an inhaler if you have one.
Other Abortion Services Information
Please do not bring children with you to the health center.
During your visit, you may be given the following:
- pregnancy test
- a chance to speak with a trained staff person about all of your choices: abortion, adoption, and parenting
- a conversation with the health care provider about your health history
- lab tests/blood work
- a pelvic exam
- an ultrasound
- medications to make the abortion more comfortable
- medication if you are Rh negative
- antibiotics or other medications
- birth control information
- a birth control method
At times there may be protesters outside of the health center. We suggest you avoid interaction with them.
For patients coming into the health center, please read the special instructions for more information about what to bring on the day of your visit.
Certain laws apply to abortions performed in Missouri. Click here for more information.
Our pregnancy tests are urine tests. We will only draw blood for a pregnancy test if it’s medically needed or upon patient’s request.
Laws and Regulations
Commonly asked questions about Missouri Law regarding abortion:
When is it legal to have an abortion in Missouri?
Abortion is legal in Missouri up to 22 weeks from a woman's last menstrual period. After this point abortion is against the law unless the woman's life or health is threatened.
Is there a mandatory waiting period before I can have an abortion?
YES. Missouri law requires every woman to obtain informed consent about her procedure at least 72 hours before the procedure.
Does my boyfriend/husband have any legal say in my decision regarding a pregnancy?
NO. Under Missouri law your husband or boyfriend cannot interfere with your decision regarding a pregnancy. However, you may find that your partner can give you much needed support while you are making a decision. Our counselors can assist you in talking with your partner if you need assistance in doing so.
If I'm Medicaid eligible, can I have my abortion paid for?
MAYBE. In Missouri, Medicaid will only pay for abortion in the cases of rape, incest, or to save the life of the mother. If you think you qualify for payment under Medicaid, contact your Medicaid provider.
Can health care providers (doctors, hospitals, nurses, clinics) refuse to perform abortions or even refuse to give me information about them?
YES. Missouri law allows individuals and institutions that object to abortion for religious or moral reasons to refuse to perform them. In addition, they do not have to give you information or referrals.
Does Missouri state law require parental consent?
YES. In Missouri, the consent of a parent, legal guardian, or Judge is necessary for minors who are 17 years or younger to obtain an abortion. A parent or legal guardian must accompany a minor on the day of the procedure.
You must complete a Medical History Form and an Informed Consent Form prior to your procedure.
If you are a minor considering an abortion, please read about parental consent and notification laws that might apply in your state.
Prices and Payment Information
Please contact this health center for abortion services pricing information.
Payment is expected at time of service unless other arrangements have previously been made.
Abortion services may be covered by your insurance. If you want to use your insurance, please be sure to bring in your insurance information at the time of your visit.