Annual Meeting Celebrates Exceptional Leaders

On Wednesday night, nearly 100 guests gathered to honor some of Upper Hudson Planned Parenthood’s most exceptional staff members, Board members, volunteers and donors.

The Sidney and Beatrice Albert Foundation was recognized as a Diamond Trustee for donating more than $75,000 to support UHPP's mission. Isadore and Thalia Cassuto accepted the award. Lifetime Trustees Katie and Ray Henrikson were recognized for contributing more than $25,000 to UHPP.

Outstanding Volunteer Karla Gareau (left, with Deborah Rosen Zamer, Chair of the Board of Directors) was honored for her work with Planned Parenthood Young Leaders, the Leadership Campaign and for serving on the Development Committee. UHPP also recognized Sarah Israel with the All Star Youth Award. She founded the first Planned Parenthood associated student organization at Russell Sage College.

Six volunteers received Public Affairs Volunteers of Excellence awards: Kristin Barron, Sharon DeBonis, Susan Heartquist, Pauline Kamen Miller, Norman Osofsky, and Jean Poppei.

UHPP welcomed guest speaker Penelope "Penny" Andrews, who is Albany Law School's 17th president and dean and the school's first female dean. Dean Andrews discussed international gender inequality. She is the author of From Cape Town to Kabul: Reconsidering Women's Human Rights (2012).

Annual Meeting 2013
L to R: Professor Penelope (Penny) Andrews with Deborah Rosen Zamer, Chair of the Board of Directors, and Chelly Hegan, President/CEO; Zamer, Lifetime Trustees Katie and Ray Henrikson, Hegan, and Laura Alpert, Vice President for Development and Marketing

UHPP Annual Meeting
L to R: Hegan, Zamer, Kristin Barron, Sharon DeBonis, Pauline Kamen Miller, Jean Poppei, Norman Osofsky, and Blue Carreker, VP for Public Affairs and Media Relations

UHPP Annual Meeting
L to R: Isadore and Thalia Cassuto, Hegan and Alpert

Event sponsored by:
Doyle & Golden
First Niagara Bank, NA
Greenberg Traurig, LLP
PharmPak, Inc.





Find A Health Center


Or Call