close

Texas Abortion Laws

As of October 1, 2011, state law requires all women seeking an abortion to have at least 2 visits to the abortion facility.

Why do I have to make two visits for an abortion?

In 2011, the Texas Legislature passed a bill that requires women to have an ultrasound at least 24 hours before she has an abortion. Planned Parenthood always puts women’s health first; we opposed this unnecessary and intrusive law because there is no medical reason to require that women obtain an ultrasound 24 hours before an abortion is performed. Ultrasounds have been a standard part of abortion services at Planned Parenthood and are performed on every patient before any type of abortion procedure is done. In addition, Planned Parenthood medical standards offered the option to view the sonogram image if the patient chose to do so.

Beginning October 1, 2011, Texas women have to make at least 2 trips to a clinic for an abortion – the first being for an ultrasound and the second visit for the procedure. We understand that requiring multiple visits makes things more challenging for women during a stressful time, but it is now mandated by Texas state law.


What else is required?

In 2003, the Texas Legislature passed a law requiring physicians to give women that are seeking abortions required state-mandated information about medical risks, adoption alternatives, and developmental stages of the fetus. This information must be provided 24 hours in advance of the abortion procedure when the woman receives her required ultrasound.

The state-mandated booklet (PDF) is currently available on the Texas Department of State Health Services website or is available at any Planned Parenthood health center.

You have the right to access certain information concerning this abortion facility by calling the Texas Department of State Health Services at 888-973-0022 (toll free).

The Texas Department of State Health Services is also responsible for any complaints. You may register complaints with the Director, Health Facility Licensing and Compliance Division, Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756. A complainant must provide his/her name. All complaints shall be confidential.

The Texas Legislature’s mandated "Woman's Right to Know" booklet and resource directory were not produced by Planned Parenthood. Planned Parenthood believes that the booklet contains some language and claims that are not medically accurate. For example, the following respected, medical organizations have found no medical basis to the claim that there is a link between breast cancer and abortion:

  • The National Institutes of Health
  • The American Cancer Society
  • The American Medical Association
  • The World Health Organization
  • The American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists
  • The National Breast Cancer Coalition
  • The National Women's Health Network
  • The New England Journal of Medicine
  • The Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

Parental Consent for Abortion in Texas

Texas state law requires that a parent or legal guardian provide written permission for unmarried teens (under the age of 18) to have an abortion. There are a few exceptions:

  1. A teen has the right to go before a judge and receive permission from the judge to have an abortion without the parent’s permission in specific circumstances (also known as Judicial Bypass). Call 855-314-0799 (toll free) and our staff can give you information about Parental Consent or Judicial Bypass. You can also visit Jane's Due Process website.
  2. Teens who are legally emancipated do not need to have permission from a parent or guardian to obtain an abortion. If a teen is legally emancipated, they will need to provide proof of emancipation.

Leyes Sobre el Aborto en Texas

A partir del 1º de octubre de 2011, la ley estatal establece que toda mujer que desee practicarse un aborto debe asistir por lo menos a 2 consultas a la clínica donde lo llevará a cabo.

¿Por qué debo ir a dos consultas para un aborto?

En el año 2011 la Asamblea Legislativa de Texas aprobó una ley que requiere que la mujer se haga un ultrasonido por lo menos 24 horas antes de practicarse un aborto. Para Planned Parenthood la salud de las mujeres viene primero; nosotros nos opusimos a esta ley puesto que es impertinente e innecesaria ya que no hay justificación médica para que una mujer se haga un ultrasonido 24 horas antes de practicarse un aborto. En Planned Parenthood, los ultrasonidos han sido un proceso habitual para los servicios de aborto y se realizan en todas las pacientes antes de practicarle cualquier tipo de procedimiento de aborto; además nuestros estándares médicos ofrecían la opción de  ver la imagen del ultrasonido si el paciente así lo deseaba.

A partir del 1º de octubre de 2011, las mujeres que vivan en el estado de Texas deben visitar la clínica de aborto por lo menos en 2 ocasiones – la primera para hacerse un ultrasonido y la segunda para realizar el procedimiento. Entendemos que al requerir varias visitas hace las cosas más difíciles para las mujeres que pasan por un momento estresante, pero La Ley Estatal de Texas lo hace obligatorio.


¿Qué más se necesita?

En el año 2003, la Asamblea Legislativa de Texas aprobó una ley que exige a los médicos proporcionar a las mujeres que buscan un aborto, información exigida por el estado sobre las etapas de desarrollo del feto, las alternativas de adopción y los riesgos médicos. Esta información debe entregarse 24 horas antes de practicar el aborto junto con el ultrasonido obligatorio.

El folleto exigido por el estado está disponible en la página de internet del  Departamento Estatal de Servicios de Salud de Texas o en cualquier centro de salud Planned Parenthood.

Usted tiene derecho a recibir cierta información sobre esta clínica de aborto llamando al Departamento Estatal de Servicios de Salud de Texas al número 888-973-0022 (sin costo).

El Departamento Estatal de Servicios de Salud de Texas también es responsable de recibir cualquier queja. Puede presentar una queja ante el Director, Health Facility Licensing and Compliance Division, Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756. La persona que presente una queja debe proporcionar su nombre completo. Todas las quejas son confidenciales.

El folleto y el directorio de información “Derecho de la mujer a la información” exigido por la Asamblea Legislativa de Texas, no fueron producidos por Planned Parenthood. En Planned Parenthood creemos que dicho folleto contiene términos y afirmaciones médicas que no son precisas. Por ejemplo:

  • The National Institutes of Health (Los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud)
  • The American Cancer Society (La Asociación Americana del Cáncer)
  • The American Medical Association  (La Asociación Médica Americana )
  • The World Health Organization (La Organización Mundial de la Salud)
  • The American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists (El Colegio Americano de Ginecólogos y Obstetras)
  • The National Breast Cancer Coalition (La Coalición Nacional del Cáncer de Mama)
  • The National Women's Health Network (La Red Nacional de Salud para Mujeres)
  • The New England Journal of Medicine ( La Revista de Medicina de Nueva Inglaterra)
  • The Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (La Real Escuela de Ginecólogos y Obstetras)

Son organizaciones médicas respetables que no han encontrado fundamentos médicos que prueben que existe un vínculo entre el cáncer de mama y el aborto.


Consentimiento de los padres para el aborto en Texas

La ley del Estado de Texas exige que un padre o tutor proporcione su permiso por escrito para que una adolescente (menor de 18 años) que no esté casada se realice un aborto. Estas son algunas excepciones: 

  1. Una adolescente tiene derecho a presentarse ante un juez y recibir permiso por parte del juez para practicarse un aborto sin el permiso de sus padres en circunstancias específicas (a esto se le conoce como Desvío Judicial).  Llame al 855-314-0799 (sin costo) y nuestro personal le puede brindar información sobre el Consentimiento de los Padres o el Desvío Judicial. También puede visitar el sitio: Jane's Due Process.
  2. Los adolescentes legalmente emancipados no necesitan el permiso de un padre o tutor para practicarse un aborto, sin embargo, necesitan mostrar comprobantes de su emancipación. 

Find A Health Center

or

Or Call
1-800-230-PLAN