Make Your Gift
Make Your Gift


Planned Parenthood Calls for Nominations for 2011 Maggie Awards for Media Excellence

Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA) is now accepting nominations for the 2011 PPFA Maggie Awards for Media Excellence. The awards recognize exceptional contributions by journalists in print, online, and broadcast media that enhance the public's understanding of reproductive rights and health care issues, including contraception, sex education, teen pregnancy, abortion, and international family planning.

Planned Parenthood is pleased to acknowledge the tremendous impact that members of the media have on our ability to educate the public about health care issues. We celebrate those who have furthered the public discourse through their courageous coverage of issues like abortion, healthy sexuality, and sexually transmitted infections.

Inaugurated in 1978 and named after Planned Parenthood founder Margaret Sanger, the annual awards cover the following categories: Commentary, Daily Print Reporting, Radio Reporting, General Interest Magazine, Women's Magazine, Online Reporting, TV News Reporting, and Arts and Entertainment.  Entries are judged by professionals from the communications field and experts in family planning and reproductive health. Judges consider creativity, quality, relevance and effectiveness, as well as cultural diversity.

Nominations for the 2011 PPFA Maggie Awards — for work appearing in 2010 — should be submitted by April 15, 2011, along with a completed nomination form. The nomination form and other information about submitting a nomination can be found on the PPFA website here.

Maggie Awards will be presented to winners in media categories during the PPFA Organizing and Policy Summit in Washington, DC, in July 2011. Recipients of the 2010 PPFA Maggie Awards were:




PPFA Media Relations 212-261-4433

Published: 02.23.11

Find A Health Center