Local Bands Release "Sex Positive" -- CD to Benefit Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest

Local Bands Release “Sex Positive” – CD of Original Tunes by Seattle Musicians
Benefitting Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest
CD Launch Party at Neumos on Capitol Hill, November 29, 2011

Kristen Glundberg-Prossor

206.328.7714 or

Published: 11.17.11| Updated: 11.17.11

SEATTLE – On Tuesday, November 29, a collaboration of Seattle musicians will release their new CD “Sex Positive” – a CD compilation to benefit Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest.
 “Sex Positive” features 18 bands and artists, most of whom contributed brand new songs for the occasion. The play list is a paean to love, sex, relationships, broken hearts and self determination with ALL of the proceeds benefitting Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest.   Featured artists include: Star Anna, RA Scion (of Common Market,) Ama Trio (featuring Amy Denio,) Madrona (featuring Ian Moore,) Choklate and the Volcano Diary.
“Sex Positive” is the inspiration of Alicia Dara, a local singing teacher and lead singer/guitarist of the acclaimed indie band, The Volcano Diary (produced by Steve Fisk.)  As a 15 year member of the Seattle music community and a fierce supporter of Planned Parenthood, Dara wanted to give something back to the organization that supported her and many of her musician friends’ health throughout the years.
“At a party last year, I realized that every musician I talked to, had a story about Planned Parenthood or had relied on Planned Parenthood for some basic health service at some point in their career,” said Ms. Dara. “Musicians, as you know, are notoriously uninsured and Planned Parenthood has always been there for us. We decided to give something back.”
“Sex Positive” is a year-long collaboration of Seattle musicians who care about Planned Parenthood and the future of the organization. Ms. Dara, who is also a member of the Planned Parenthood Board of Advocates recruited artists throughout the region to donate songs for the project. “It wasn’t a hard ask,” said Dara. “In the wake of unrelenting congressional attacks to defund the organization, these musicians mobilized to preserve our access to low cost health care.” 
The full list of songs includes:
1) Star Anna “Stumble”
2) Madrona “The Agitator”
3) Choklate “The Tea”
4) Minirex “Not The Only One”
5) The Volcano Diary “Silver Tongue”
6) Another Perfect Crime “No Stars”
7) RA Scion “Steal”
8) Ama Trio “Beirut”
9) Land of Pines “What Dust We Dote On”
10) Cober “Slow to Notice”
11) Willow “Ricordare”
12) The Maxines “Honestly”
13) Mutiny Mutiny “A Work In Progress”
14) Sweet Secrets “The Old You”
15) Not Long After “She Wants You”
16) We Are Golden “Xie Xie”
17) Jean Mann “Midnight Sun”
18) NoRey “Just Like You”
In celebration of the release, a launch party will be held at Neumos on Capitol Hill, at 9:00 pm. You’re all invited.  The CD will be available at Sonic Boom Records, Easy Street Records and online at, Amazon and ITunes and will cost $10. For more information, please contact:
Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest is the region’s leading sexual and reproductive health care provider and advocate. We believe everyone has the right to choose when or whether to have a child and that every child should be wanted and loved. Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest operates 30 health centers in Alaska, Idaho and western Washington, providing medical services and sexuality education for thousands of women, men and teenagers each year. Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization.

Find A Health Center